RSS

The Power of a Moo

29 May

BY LAUREN CHASE (Montana Stockgrowers Association

I’ve been a little stressed lately. I’m putting together the finishing touches on my first photo book and there is definitely more to publishing than I could have ever imagined. I want to make the best product I possibly can so I spend countless hours in front of my computer screen, starring at my InDesign file.

The more time spent in my cubicle, the more I yearned for something to relax me, but I couldn’t quite pinpoint what it was. I’d glance out of my window to watch the way the branches of the willow tree sway in the wind, feeling for a few minutes like I was bonding with nature. Over the past few months, the tree’s leaves have bloomed and that was a calming process to watch, but not enough.

Recently, I visited the SE for a conference put on by Alltech. I had the opportunity to spend a few hours on some beautiful Tennessee farms during my trip…and this couldn’t have been better for me.

I haven’t been around cattle for a few months, so the second I saw the innocent faces of calves playfully running in the pasture mooing to their mothers, I was immediately overcome with joy. I started to tear-up a bit. Not tears of sadness, but tears of pure happiness. Animals have healing power, cattle especially. Watching the cows graze and the calves checking out all of the surroundings, I felt peace and it made it realize I don’t need to be so worried all of the time.

These little moments are priceless moo medicine.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Power of a Moo

  1. Elizabeth

    May 30, 2012 at 2:02 PM

    I loved this post!!! I can relate! There is nothing better than the drive back home to the farm – away from our little city apartment to green pastures and cattle!! Kind of recharges our battery for the work we have ahead of us.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

