RSS

Lindsay Lewand on Life & Livestock

02 Aug

BY LAUREN CHASE (Montana Stockgrowers Association)

On the Cattle Call, I like to feature young beef producers and share their story about their lives raising cattle. Today, I feature Lindsay Lewand of Kingston, Tennessee. I haven’t met her in person yet…hope to someday soon…but I can tell she loves cattle, her family and being an advocate for the beef industry. Let’s all meet Lindsay…

Tell us a little about your family and farm in Tennessee.

I was raised on a cattle farm in Harriman, TN along the Emory River. My father, brother, husband and I operate a black angus commercial cow/calf herd on my late grandmother’s farm. I now live a short ride away in Kingston with my husband, Brian and son, Bo on Brian’s late grandfather’s farm. We just recently decided to sell our commercial cows to dedicate our farm to finishing cattle born on my father’s farm for local custom beef sales. And eventually plan to expand with registered stock. We farm roughly 500 acres including both farms (owned and leased hay fields).

What does it mean to you to be able to raise your son on a farm and work with your husband?

I thank God everyday for the blessings He has poured out for me. And that would definitely include my family and being on a farm. I feel our son is learning the most important things early on… Life, death, compassion, responsibility, and so much more.
My husband and I are quite a pair! All we wanted was to farm together and nothing else. It’s what we love. Brian usually works as a heavy equipment operator off the farm an having to help me during what few hours or days he had off. however, he has been at home on the farm for the past 6 months… And boy have we got a lot done around here! It’s so nice to have a man’s helping hand. I am so blessed to not only get to do what I was born to do, but to also have a husband who fully supports me.

What is your favorite activity to do on the farm? Why?

I love our (almost) daily trips around the farm. We ride out to check on things, relax, and take it all in.

Does your family have any history with raising cattle? If so, please explain.

My father’s family farming heritage reaches back as far as the Revolutionary War. The farm where I grew up was once a dairy farm. After a short break from cattle, my father started the black angus herd in 1978. By 1982 he was using registered black angus bulls only. We are quite proud of our commercial herd after his long, hard working years of building it.

What advice could you give young beef producers about the industry? 

Network! Get out there and connect with other farmers, university extension agents, professors, and other experts in the field. They have a wealth of knowledge and are there to share it!

You take amazing photographs. Why do you think it’s important for the beef industry to tell its story through visual imagery? 

I think we are visual creatures by nature. Photographs help show our story, our lives with consumers… With the rest of the world. People not only need but want to see and hear our story. Not only the beef industry but farming in general. There are also those out there who don’t want to hear it. They don’t care to hear. We must use our voices to help open up people’s eyes, minds, and hearts to who we are and what we do.

Is there any advice that either a grandfather or grandmother told you about life or farming that you could share? 

My grandmother was such a huge influence in my life. She taught me about life, people, truly loving… And gardening. Gosh, do I miss that woman. Most memorable thing… How important family is. Even when you are the little red-headed step child, you are just as important and loved just as much as everyone else.
Her son, the man I call daddy (even though he is my stepdad), carried that through to me. He is the most influential person in my life. And I owe my love of farming to him.

Finally, what is your favorite beef meal? And why?

A perfectly cooked steak (and tators) of course!! And when I say perfect, I mean you better know how to grill it with nothing but a little salt… And maybe some pepper, and still be able to make it melt in mouth. Why? No, explanation needed- its a steak! 

You can find Lindsay on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

